An Interesting Resolution Concept: One Word

I’m not one for New year’s Resolutions because, frankly, they don’t succeed. I’d love to know if any of my readers have succeeded at one of their resolutions, ever. There is something being discussed on #sachat however that intrigues me: One Word Resolution. Some of the Tweeters I follow did this in 2011, and inspired many more to try it out in 2012. The idea behind this is that you select one word to sum up who you want to be or how you want to live for the year that you concentrate on every day.

As I look back at 2011 and ahead for 2012, I can see EXACTLY what word I need to  select for this project: FOCUS.

Image from "Learning Fundamentals"

In fact, this has been something I should have concentrated on for years, but I’m not going to worry about the past. With the new-ish job, Girl Scouts, wedding planning, housework, hobbies, Ellie and friends, I don’t have a lot of time available for screwing around aimlessly. Well, a ton of screwing around anyway. I know that when I follow a schedule and check things off my to-do list, I’m a happier person, and less prone to bouts of anxiety. When I get caught up in the cycle of anxiety, I shut down and don’t accomplish anything.

So, focus.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Internet, Me

One response to “An Interesting Resolution Concept: One Word

  1. Welcome to the One Word challenge! I chose a word last year and it definitely heightened my awareness. I consciously thought about “move” as I worked out (or didn’t), was inspired, and tried new things. I’m looking forward to seeing 2012 through my “celebrate” lens and finding more opportunities to see the world this way.