I know what I’m getting for my next tattoo: a labyrinth.

According to Wikipedia–Labyrinths can be thought of as symbolic forms of pilgrimage; people can walk the path, ascending toward salvation or enlightenment. Many people could not afford to travel to holy sites and lands, so labyrinths and prayer substituted for such travel. Later the religious significance of labyrinths faded, and they served primarily for entertainment, though recently their spiritual aspect has seen a resurgence.

Classical Labyrinth The Classical Labyrinth, the predominant pattern from Ancient Greece. This will more than satisfy my desire for a spiritual tattoo and will help remind me of the journey that I and everyone takes through life. As Socrates said in Euthydemus, “Then it seemed like falling into a labyrinth: we thought we were at the finish, but our way bent round and we found ourselves as it were back at the beginning, and just as far from that which we were seeking at first.” 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. thesecondcircle

    Plus it’s a tree and a mushroom… and also my next tattoo (when I finally get around to it).

  2. Pingback: Reflections » Blog Archive » Desicions Desicions