Heroes in Training

I have a friend that is interested in becoming a firefighter. As much as I support that dream, and will do anything I can to help her pass the exam and stuff (GET STUDYING YOU!!), I fear for her safety at the same time. I know that we never hear about the thousands of firefighters that come home safely every night, we only hear about the tragedies. But still. I’m a worry wart and that’s not going to change. That’s why this new technology for fire department training is interesting to me. It wasn’t long ago that we lost those 8 in Worcester, and even more recently that 2 more were lost in Boston. Are these simulators guaranteed to save lives? No, but having a better understanding of what they might experience can only help firefighters do their jobs. It’s kind of like a surgeon–do you want to be the first person Dr. Smith does a double-bypass on? Hells no. In that same vein, I hope that more fire departments are able to get this kind of technology to help train those men and women that are already risking their lives for us.

Comments Off on Heroes in Training

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.