The Sweetest Thing

Tuesday night, Ellie got to meet D, and I have to admit, I was a little nervous about it. I mean, D’s been one of my closest friends for a while now, and what would happen if they disliked each other? I’m not saying that I don’t want all my friends to get along with Ellie, but there are certain ones that know me a lot better and that I feel are closer to me, and I want them to, in a way, ‘approve’ of a girl before I start being too serious with her.

Despite a few navigational issues getting to and through Quincy, we met up with Ellie in front of the Black Cat Cafe (review to come in another post). As we rounded the corner I noticed her standing in front, and her entire face lit up. I’m sure I at least blushed a little, but D would be able to tell you better than I.

I think they got along really well–at least that’s what both of them told me 😛 At one point, D went to the bathroom, and Ellie told me that she had something for me–and pulls out a small ring box–but that it’s not very much. As she’s saying all this, my heart nearly exploded in my chest with panic. I opened it to see a Girl Scout 10-year pin (the numeral, not the trefoil)! It’s a long, drawn-out story as to why she got it for me, but suffice it to say that this was probably one of the best gifts I have ever received. She paid attention and realizes that it’s the small things that really matter in life. I love it.

Comments Off on The Sweetest Thing

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.