Showing Off

At my last leader meeting, we were discussing different things our troop members might want to look into in regards to awards, trips, etc.

One of my co-leaders mentioned the President’s Volunteer Service Award, the only non-Girl Scout insignia that is allowed to be worn on the front of the sash or vest, which is a really big deal. Well, I looked it up to find out more about it, and it’s actually really worthwhile–AND is something good to have come out of the Bush administration.

In 2003, President Bush created the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation to find ways to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making in our Nation. The Council brings together leaders from the worlds of business, entertainment, sports, education, government, nonprofits, and the media.

The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

I think I might go for it as a matter of fact, since I’ll be putting in plenty of volunteer hours with my troop–it might even motivate my girls to go for it.

1 Comment

Filed under Girl Scouts

One response to “Showing Off

  1. Beth

    Go for it! Wow, the Dubya administration actually yielded one good thing.