Keep the Old

Living with userinfowtbrosie has been going wonderfully. The only complaints I have are the commute and teh fact that I’m too far away from my friends to really hang out as much as I used to.

I promised people that I wasn’t going to get sucked into the black hole that is living with your partner (or the black hole that is living so far down on the South Shore!), and I don’t think I’ve really lived up to that promise. Not to mention the fact that we’ve travelled almost every weekend for the last two months. I WANT to see people, I miss my friends and kinda hope they miss me too. I feel like I’m losing touch with people I used to have a strong connection with, which is disheartening. So, I am taking it upon myself to be available Wednesday, June 17 after work. That is userinfowtbrosie‘s cut-off week, so will give her some uninterrupted time to get work done–I’m even up for staying overnight with someone so I don’t have to worry about a possible late-night drive back to Plymouth.

There are lots of people that I want to see, an I can’t make time for every group, but I’m going to pick one night a month that I will guarantee availability. The travelling season is about to end for us, so we’ll be available (both as a couple and singly) for weekend outings soon too–driving is not a huge deal to us.

2 Comments

Filed under Me

2 responses to “Keep the Old

  1. Excalbre

    “So, I am taking it upon myself to be available Wednesday, June 17 after work. That is wtbrosie’s cut-off week,”

    I think this is one of the reasons it’s been difficult. You’ve fallen victim to coupledom where life revolves around the other person. Even in this post you’re saying you’re only available to friends because she’s busy. I understand things are fresh, but that’s rough and quickly can be read as, “Only when it’s convienent” and not “I’ll make time for you.” It’s gotten to the point where we’ve thought of invited you and thought, no point, she’s busy. Just some food for thought…

  2. Twinkle

    I find moving in with someone (even if it’s a *wonderful* thing) to be anxiety producing.

    I’m so glad that it’s going well for you, and that you are still making the effort to keep in touch with your friends.