I’m Not Going to Work Tomorrow

Today was my last day…wow. The office had a cake and a small gift, which was really nice of them, but I hate being the center of attention so it was uncomfortable. Then my boss took my co-worker and I out to Firefly’s for dinner, where she gave me another card with money in it (she’s not great at buying gifts…). I’m definitely nervous about a ton of things–where am I going to get money to pay my bills? how difficult will my classes be? can I actually hack grad school? But overall, I’m okay.

The weirdest thing is going to be the fact that I no longer have to get up early and go to work anymore. Now all I have to concern myself with is school and Girl Scouts. It’s pretty freeing to be honest.

1 Comment

Filed under Higher Education

One response to “I’m Not Going to Work Tomorrow

  1. Right on, let me know what your new schedule will be like because we have to compare school notes over the phone. I have all second-shift classes but a couple of days a week I have big gaps, so I can try calling you then. Anyway, I hear you regarding the money, it’s scary to not have any income, not even unemployment, but there is some freedom in being able to put a lot of mental energy into learning and enriching oneself, rather than being another cog in the rat race. Good luck and we’ll talk soon!