Courses Ahoy!

This semester I’m taking 4 classes: College Student Development, Vocational Ed & Career Development, Counseling Theory and Financial Aspect of Higher Education. Out of them the only one I’m really not that keen on is Career Development–the prof is rather boring and disorganized, and the subject matter is less than interesting.

The other three however, are really interesting. I feel like Student Development is getting off to a fairly slow start, but I’ve had on less session than the other classes, and we’ve pretty much not ‘learned’ anything; we’ve been mostly focused on discussing the group projects that will be the culmination of the course. Counseling Theory is just fascinating in that I really enjoy learning about therapy and theories and whatnot–it’s the basis for choosing this program over some of the others. Financial Aspects may be my favorite as of right now. First of all, it’s taught by Mr. Feeny. Also, it’s an extremely ‘real’ class–we’re discussing the actual workings of a college, how finances affect everything, etc. I think I’m enjoying it so much because it’s the class I have the most experience in, having been involved with a university on a more financial level than most of, if not all, the other members of my cohort.

The only bad thing so far is that I don’t have a job yet. I’ve applied to a couple of assistantships, but haven’t been hired. I’m not giving up, and should be able to make it financially for the semester, but I do need something in the near future. If the job I just applied to with Girl Scouts doesn’t pan out, I’ll go to Yankee Candle.

Comments Off on Courses Ahoy!

Filed under Higher Education

Comments are closed.