If I was Queen of Girl Scouts Part III: Highest Awards

So, I am frustrated at my Council, which has raised my anxiety, which has in turn raised my OCD. In order to appease the OCD monster (and not re-arrange the entire house), I’m going to continue my series on how Girl Scouts would look if I was in charge and had free-range. This is a continuation of my posts on Program Levels and Programming. Please note that how to earn the various pre-requisites have not been totally thought out, but seeing as the likelihood of this ever happening is basically none, and I will have my Girl Scout Commission™ and other experts to help with the re-vamp if it ever DID happen, I figured I don’t actually need to worry about those now. (last edited: 11/15/10)

Girl Scout Bronze Award: Earned by Junior Girl Scouts.

Pre-requisites:

  • First Aid badge
  • Girl Scout Traditions badge OR have earned the “Bridge to Juniors” Award
  • One other Badge of your choice
  • Junior Aide -OR- Bronze Leadership Torch (both include 10 hours of leadership experience)
  • One Junior Girl Scout Sign

Bronze Award Project: Same (or similar) guidelines as are currently in place. A minimum of 20 hours of work (including planning) is required. This project may benefit Girl Scouting or the girls’ community. Project is approved by the Service Unit.

Girl Scout Silver Award: Earned by Cadette Girl Scouts.

Pre-requisites:

  • Girl Scout Bronze Award plus 2 Cadette badges relavant to the project -OR- 5 Cadette badges, 3 of which must directly relate to Girl Scouts/Guides, Citizenship, Health/Well-Being
  • Program Aide -OR- Silver Leadership Torch (both include 15 hours of leadership experience)
  • From Dreams to Reality Award
  • Cadette Challenge

Silver Award Project: Same (or similar) guidelines as are currently in place. A minimum of 50 hours of work (including planning) is required. This project may benefit Girl Scouting or the girls’ community. Project is approved by Council.

Girl Scout Gold Award: Earned by Senior Girl Scouts.

Pre-requisites:

  • Girl Scout Silver Award plus 2 Senior badges relavent to the project  -OR- 5 Senior badges, 3 of which must directly relate to Girl Scouts/Guides, Citizenship, Health/Well-Being
  • Leader in Training -OR- Counselor in Training -OR- Gold Leadership Torch (all include a minimum 20 hours of leadership experience)
  • Career Exploration Award (includes 40 hours of work/internship)
  • Senior Challenge

Gold Award Project: Same (or similar) guidelines as are currently in place. A minimum of 80 hours of work (including planning) is required. The project should benefit Girl Scouting in some way, but does not have to. Project is approved by Council.

1 Comment

Filed under Girl Scouts

One response to “If I was Queen of Girl Scouts Part III: Highest Awards

  1. Beth

    I totally understand the path from frustration with something to OCD, I’m going through that right now. Carl and I spent our weekend “upstate”, with the main purpose being to videotape an interview with the man in charge at the latest BLM wild horse and burro adoption in Flagstaff. I’ve gotten so frustrated with the polarized sides of this issue and the ignorance and stubbornness on both sides, especially the noisy activist side, that at times I was inclined to take it out on Carl or just be in a grouchy mood. Posting your ideas for Girl Scout reform looks like a great therapeutic exercise and I’d do the same except wild horses are so controversial, I just don’t feel like antagonizing any friends or family. Anyway, great post and I do enjoy reading your reform ideas.