Weekend in London (Backdated)

Tower of London - Click to see more pics

I know we are not required to journal on days we do not have campus visits, but I feel that keeping some type of journal for the weekend was good for keeping me in habit and to get some thoughts down on paper. I am leaving it in this assignment because I feel that it was an important part of my personal learning experience.

Friday we just spent the 1st half of the day on the coach, and then I went on a mini-excursion by myself to see “Here Come the Girl Guides,” an exhibit for the 100th anniversary of Girl Guiding at the Museum of London – Docklands. I wish it hadn’t been A) so far from everything and B) a museum I had no interest in. But, it was all free and a beggar can’t be a chooser. Plus, I got a patch for my Girl Scout tote bag, which is wicked cool.

Saturday taught me one thing about myself: never travel with people I don’t know. Even with just 2 other people, we had a really difficult time trying to organize the day and wound up frustrated and I feel like most of the day was wasted due to picky eating habits, indecision and ridiculous desires to see/do things that can and are done back home. I learned that I am far more ambitious when I am on “vacation” than at home and need to be far better organized ahead of time when I am planning a trip. Not to say I didn’t have fun or that I didn’t very much enjoy what I did see (going on a bus tour was totally worth the money!), but I am left feeling slightly unsatisfied.

Sunday I left early to see Buckingham Palace, then I met back up with Nadia to visit the Tower of London, which was the #1 thing I wanted to see while I was there. I did go see the Crown Jewels–totally worth it, even though it took about an hour and a half from the time I got into line — totally worth it. I also went to the Household Calvary Museum, located at the Horse Guards building. I was fortunate enough to see a delayed Changing of the Guard there rather than just the regular inspection that usually happens at 4PM. So felt pretty satisfied with my weekend despite the frustration.

Comments Off on Weekend in London (Backdated)

Filed under Higher Education, Travel

Comments are closed.