Late-Night Rambling

Last week was, in many ways, my first official week of the new academic year, although today is my first day of classes. Monday I had a quick meeting at WIT with the Desk Attendants, Tuesday I went in to MCP early because I had to help out with my program’s Orientation and social. I got home around 9:30 pm and was exhausted!!

On my walk home from the T, I thought about this and have no idea how I am going to re-adjust to a “normal” life. I know I did it when I finished undergrad, but that was 7 years ago (8 by the time I finish school), and I have become far more socially awkward since then. Not to mention the first job I had out of college was at the company my dad had worked at for 30 years, so it was pretty much guaranteed. I am no good at interviewing (Ellie will totally support me in that), and my anxiety has changed, and in some ways, increased. Now, this isn’t to say I’m terribly nervous about getting a job after graduation, but I know myself–it’s going to stress me out until I get it. I’m a creature of habit and it’s VERY off-putting to have those habits changed. I do know that having a more-regular schedule will be better for me in the long run, but it’ll take some getting used to again. Yes, it’s a year off, but I’m the type that needs to psych myself up for these kind of things.

Comments Off on Late-Night Rambling

Filed under Higher Education

Comments are closed.