Christmas Part One

The holidays are half over. If this blizzard allows, we are heading to NJ tomorrow morning for Part 2 with Ellie’s family. Yesterday was Christmas with my family and between us. Now, there is a new trend amongst the Pagan communities to demean those us us that celebrate Christmas because we’re “feeding the beast” or “letting the Christians win” or some other bullshit. I may or may not discuss my feelings in more depth, but that will likely be on my Spiritual Blog if I do. Suffice it to say that I celebrate Christmas because I am the only non-Christian in my family and amongst those friends that I’m close enough to celebrate holidays with. I’m not going to deny their holiday (even if it IS secular in nature) just because it’s not my religion.

I hate the consumerism of Christmas, and how it’s influence has affected so many of the other mid-Winter holidays. That’s why I mainly ask for things I need or those things I REALLY want but won’t buy for myself–like a rice cooker–because it’s not really a necessity, but my family feels good getting it because they feel they are indulging me. Sitting here looking at what my family and Ellie got, I’m really pleased because most of the gifts this year fit that theme. My mom likes getting crap, like stuffed animals and stupid frivolous stuff like that, which influences her shopping, but having been out of work the first 6 months of the year really helped curb her need to buy shit and I can only think of one gift that I will be donating to Goodwill–a mug she packaged with some hot apple cider packets she gave us. That’s an AMAZING year for her 😀

Christmas was small this year, but I prefer that–I’d much rather get items I need/can use/appreciate rather than a bunch of toys or knick-knacks that are just going to sit around and raise my anxiety because I’m surrounded by too much stuff. The only things that went overboard was candy–my mom likes to fill the stockings and even gift bags with the stuff, so we’re going to become diabetic by the time January is over.

I’m a little nervous about Ellie’s family celebration because there are so many of them and no one really knows how to say “no” to buying gifts, but I am hoping it’ll be lighter this year because no one has been immune to the financial struggles that have been affecting everyone.

Comments Off on Christmas Part One

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.