I Love it When the World Says ‘Yes’

I had a Girl Scout training all day today (I took this one for a change rather than facilitating it) and am just getting online for the first time right now. One of the things I do is check my horoscope on Yahoo:

For the sake of your self-esteem: When you see a chance to get ahead today, you have to take it. Save the conservative thinking and deep contemplation for another time. This phase of your life is meant to be full of action and risk-taking. You’re going to have to get comfortable with the idea that you can’t hit a home run every time you step up to the plate. Expecting a perfect score every time isn’t realistic, and could be paralyzing.

It was pretty interesting since, after the training, I volunteered to join the planning committee for a 100th Anniversary Volunteer Development Conference. AND, based on information from National about an initiative to increase volunteers in several areas, one being colleges, I offered my “expertise” in helping GSEM with some type of recruiting/development/retention for this age group. They really aren’t sure how to go about this, but I’ll be at the forefront of it, which is REALLY interesting to me.

When I read the horoscope, I felt pretty validated in my actions this evening.

Comments Off on I Love it When the World Says ‘Yes’

Filed under Girl Scouts, Higher Education

Comments are closed.