Thinking About My Brother

It’s not often that I talk about my brother or his passing, but I think about him often enough. This article from the Boston Globe on my newsreader made me think:

And with that, the Kandler family may be onto something very big and very smart. While many mark the day that a loved one died with a quiet act of remembrance, Ken Kandler, his three kids, and their growing offspring do this in a far less traditional way.

They will meet Sunday at 4 p.m. at an uncommonly cheerful Chinese restaurant in a strip plaza in Newton, just as they have on the same day for each of the past six years.

via A toast to Sylvia – The Boston Globe.

There is a strong part of me that wishes something like this happened–Billy was such a vibrant person that he’d like something like this. Unfortunately, it’s not something that could be done with my parents because, despite my mom’s lip-service to wanting to celebrate his life, she really can’t, and my dad doesn’t even bother with the lip-service.

I don’t know if this is something I’d like to organize with his friends or not–I’m in contact with very few of them, and am unsure if it’s something that they’d even be interested in doing…plus, his favorite restaurant has pretty crappy food in my opinion.

I just feel so…empty about him passing and don’t really know what to do about it.

3 Comments

Filed under News

3 responses to “Thinking About My Brother

  1. Jen

    I would absolutely love to do something like this. We should start the tradition this year, even if it’s not at the Buddha. Keep in touch **hugs**

  2. Ellie

    i think we should do something…

  3. katie

    I will do something…