Of Shoes and Ships…

Life has been kind of rough lately. Mom’s cancer isn’t getting any worse that we know of, but the chemotherapy is starting to really affect her–loss of balance, no appetite (lots of nausea), and irritable. Last weekend was devoted to moving her out of her apartment, which meant going through 10 years of accumulated junk and having to throw most of it out because 1) there was just too much to lug to Goodwill and 2) it was too covered in grime/smoke/dust for donation. I’m not sure if my mom would be considered a hoarder according the the DSM-IV-TR (reminder: ask Ellie), but if not, she’s damn close. I was worried that it would be hard with only my father, a friend of my brother and myself, but I think it went well not having mom there because she’s be too depressed/moody and would fight us to keep more than we did (and we kept A LOT).

I have a lot of emotions about the whole situation that are only exasperated by the job search. No, I’m not dealing well with all of the stresses and anxieties that are being induced by so much crap all colliding at once. I’m in an almost constant state of feeling overwhelmed, which I sort of have to take as a win since I know that I could be totally shut down right now.

I’m plugging away at the job search, but I’m frustrated about how little response I’ve had. I’m trying to keep busy, but am BORED!!!

I don’t know, I don’t really have anything useful to talk about lately, mostly because I’m so bored. Hopefully this doesn’t last too much longer.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Of Shoes and Ships…

  1. Carl

    Hey, you. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. I helped a close friend of the family through something similar back in 2004 and it was a really difficult time. You’re such a good person & I give you a lot of credit for always being there for those around you. As for the job, the economy’s just weak everywhere–you’ll find a place that you fit & will be a damned good clinician. 🙂 Hugs from Haverhil.

    • Thanks! It sucks, but we’re getting through it all.

      And the job front is bad–luckily colleges are opening up more positions and I’m willing to take an only SLIGHTLY student affairs-related position for a while to get more experience.

  2. Hi Jessie,

    Boredom sux at a time when distractions are probably most needed. Have you thought about pursuing (inexpensive) hobbies or even volunteering? In either case, they open opportunity to meet people that could also open up job opportunities. Also, a good outlet (as I’m sure others might have mentioned) is a support-group for family members of people fighting cancer. I know there’s numerous wellness centers and the like in the greater Boston area and south.

    just some thoughts 🙂

    • I should start actually picking up my needlepoint projects…Girl Scouts is pretty quiet right now due to it being summer vacation, and I fear picking up another volunteering opportunity because I don’t know it’s commitment requirements.

      I probably should look into a support-group, maybe Dana-Farber has something since I can’t afford much.