Returning to Normal

Damn, has it really been over two weeks since my last post? I’ve just been so busy with the transition to working full-time again, and learning the job (two different difficulties, let me assure you), plus some more wedding planning that I’ve been pretty much ignorant of most else going on around me.

Wow, I totally missed the fact that I forgot to mention having a new job!! I’m the Registrar at the BU School of Social Work (yes, I totally used my connections though Ellie to get this job). Amazingly enough, I was offered this job on the same day Mom passed, but I didn’t accept until Thursday because I was waiting to hear from another position and life was just too crazy to make a decision on Tuesday, when I replied to the voicemail from BU. I made the right choice with BU, and am looking forward to getting more comfortable with the job duties so I can expand my BU experiences; I’m thinking about advising, or trying to be active with, student groups, or something similar. Luckily, my supervisor is allowing me to take a large role with the SSW Student Org, so I’m looking forward to that a lot.

It’s good to get back into a mindset where I work for 8 hours, then come home and not have to worry about reading, projects or portfolio. I’m still going to have Girl Scout trainings to prepare for, but they’re not NEW; I just have to familiarize myself with the materials and modules and deliver. And I don’t have to do a ton of them this year if I don’t want to.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Returning to Normal

  1. Beth

    Amen about coming home and getting to turn your brain off if you want to! That’s the bummer about being in school: ALWAYS having something to finish up after hours. That is so cool that you’re the registrar, you rule!